SNL: British Movie and American Pop

14 02 2011

I love movies, and the best part is, different countries have their own special genres.  You can rely on them to specialize in that type of film and produce the best around.  Hong Kong does amazing Kung Fu, Japan has Horror, Hollywood is the home of the Big-Budget Action Flick.  Now I’m not saying that these are the only films they can make but, they continuously produce the best.  It’s like they have the master copies, the blanks from which all others come.  Great Britain loves their Gritty Gangster Films. In the past, I’ve complained about how hard some British films are to understand, so when I saw this little sketch from Saturday Night Live, I just had to share it.

Don’ You Go Rounin’ Roun To Re Ro

Now, I’m terribly disappointed that your average Brit will never experience the frustration that comes from not being able to understand a film that’s already IN ENGLISH.  I only hope that, on rare occasions, they too have to fumble for the subtitle option on films made in America just like we do when we pick-up some inocuous looking title only to find it absolutely  filled with unintelligible dialogue.  To be fair, I find that this happens much more often with Irish films.

Now that we’ve covered that, I was looking for a film clip on YouTube the other night and found just the one I wanted.  It’s the last few minutes of Ralph Bakshi’s “American Pop”. While I found the film’s narrative and pacing  as a whole to be a little uneven, the artwork and animation is amazing.  I love the rotoscoping techniques used in this film.  The whole story, while more or less depressing, leads ups to this amazing end sequence in a recording studio that quite possibly saves the entire film. 

I challenge you to find a more beautiful piece of animation. Personally, I’d have to say that the pink elephants sequence from “Dumbo”, What’s Opera, Doc? from Merrie Melodies, and the creation sequence from “Watership Down” all come in as close seconds. Oh man, I’ve forgotten all about Studio Ghibli and the work of Genndy Tartakofsky. All right, I’m going to have to give this some serious thought.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

